The Cuckoo’s Calling

I ordered Robert Galbraith’s book The Cuckoo’s Calling from an online shop. When the book came, I read from the books cover that Robert Galbraith is actually a pseudonym for J.K. Rowling. I was surprised and a little disappointed. Last year I read J.K. Rowling’s book The Casual Vacancy (review here) and it was heavy and dark and left me with an uneasy feeling. But, as I had the book The Cuckoo’s Calling, I desided to give it a change and read it.

I must say that the book was a pleasant surprise and it was worth reading. The story is a traditional crime story and the detective, Cormoran Strike, is one of those unlucky guys that you often meet in crime novels. He brokes up with his girlfriend and at the same time loses his home, has money problems, no customers and he lives in his office. He has a prosthesis in his other leg and traumas from the war, he’s a war veteran.

At the same time he is a very hardworking, intelligent and skilled private detective. He can solve a crime that the police couldn’t. He also tries to get over his stormy relationship with his ex-girlfried and make an employment realtionship with his new secretary.

The Cuckoo’s Calling is entertaining, well written and traditional (if you like traditional). To me it was a positive surprise. I started to like Cormoran Strike. It’s interesting how one author can write books that are so different from each other. Both The Casual Vacancy (which was not a crime novel) and The Cuckoo’s Calling deal with things from the dark side of life. The Casual Vacancy I ended with a heavy heart but The Cuckoo’s Calling I ended with a positive heart, so there was a difference.

Christmas is near and I just hope Santa brings me the new book from Robert Galbraith, The Silkworm.

200px-CuckoosCallingCover

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

