The Adventures, The Memoirs and The Return of Sherlock Holmes

Three books in one volume, 36 stories, 1099 pages. That was my last project and I liked it. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes and The Return of Sherlock Holmes, those were the three parts of that thick book.

It took me a while to read this “brick”. It doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy it, I did, very much. I just wanted to concentrate and absorb every detail. I didn’t have to regret my desicion.

Nowadays, when you watch TV or go to the movies, you meet a cranky, impolite Sherlock Holmes. I cannot deny, I love the new Sherlock Holmes too, especially played by Benedict Cumberbatch. But, in these stories, Sherlock Holmes is not so cranky, not so impolite. Absolutely, he is strange, self-esteeming, a bit of a loner, intelligent and original. But he treats Watson and his customers relatively kindly, appreciates them and wants them to solve crimes with him.

There are many familiar elements too. Moriarty, Sherlock’s brother Mycroft (who is short and a bit fat, by the way) and sharp nose and agility, quick-witted mind and unusual methods. There’s strange crimes and even stranger solutions.

I must say, passing of time has not effected these stories. They are still interesting and exciting. I guess that’s the sign of a true classic. And a sing of a great writer, Arthur Conan Doyle. He invented one of the most interesting characters of all times, who, again and again, comes back to TV and movies and gives us pleasant moments of entertainment.

AdventuresHolmes

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

