The Highly Sensitive Person: How To Thrive When The World Overwhelms You

I’ve been on a summer holiday and I was also in New York. What a great trip, I’m happy. Oh well, back to everyday routines (that aren’t so bad either) and books and movies.

I’ve tried to read a book about highly sensitive people. The book is The Highly Sensitive Person: How To Thrive When The World Overwhelms You written by Elaine N. Aron. I recognize that some of the features of highly sensitive person apply to me, that’s one of the reasons I chose this book to be in my reading list.

I’m not a fan of categorizations, I don’t like people to be typecasted. Still, I have to say, that some of my own qualities have been a problem to other people. My sensitivity to loud sounds and smells, my low tolerance to commerce and big crowds, my need to be alone more than a “normal” person. And those are just a few things. Those other people have categorized me because of these qualities. I’ve been shy, proud, difficult, timid, touchy, selfish, inhibited, introverted and so on. None of these terms are positive. Why?

What if I’ve born with those qualities. In the book The Highly Sensitive Person Elaine N. Aron explains that these people have a very sensitive nervous system and they are more easly overwhelmed when in a highly stimulating environment.

So, the idea is good. And the book? No. I have no idea to whom she has written this book, is it for the man in the street or to a doctor. There’s just too much analysis of childhood and some irrelevant matters (I’m not saying that persons childhood is irrelevant).

I still think that many people should tolerate difference more. It’s hard to be the quiet, shy and surveillant person in the corner of the room trying to tolerate all the noises, smells and social situations. It’s not necessarily a bad thing to be a little more quiet and thoughtful. I think that some of my highly sensitive person -qualities are actually my best qualities.

In my opinion this book  brings out the highly sensitive people in a negative way. Or was it just that the book was so bad?

event_15445465

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

