The Truth About The Harry Quebert Affair

Joël Dicker has written a thick novel, the edition that I read had 809 pages. I was riveted by the story from the start.

Fist I must share with you my thought, that goes for books as well as movies. To me, most of the time, the main issue is entertainment. Of course the story has to be good and well written, but it doesn’t have to be “high culture”. I’m very happy when I’ve read a book that has captured my attention entirely and has offered me hours of interesting moments with the characters and the story. Same with movies. That entertainment factor may not be the same for everybody but who would read a book (or see a movie) that wouldn’t entertain? I wouldn’t.

Back to the main issue. The truth about Harry Quebert affair has twists and turns, some of them are believable some aren’t. Still, it was good, well-paced and full of surprises. The thing that bothered me is, that at the end of the book there were a lot of twists and turns, maybe even just a little too much. Somehow it was not in line with the atmosphere of the rest of the book.

But, I enjoyed reading this book and I think that The truth about Harry Quebert affair was a fine mystery and one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read this year. Not the most shining star but a bright one.

Truth_About_Harry_Quebert-206x320

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

