Sankta Psyko

This book drew my attention because of it’s name, Sankta Psyko. Then I read the back of the book and I was interested. I went to the library and borrowed it. It took me only a few days to read it.

Sankta Psyko is written by Johan Theorin, yet another Swedish writer. I find myself reading a lot of books written by Scandinavian writers, especially thrillers.

I had no idea what was coming. Little by little the story of the main character Jan, and some other people, start to open. It’s like pealing an onion, layer by layer, little by little, with some tears. They all work in the day car center for the children whose parent, mother or father, is in the mental institution. Visits to the hospital, Sankta Psyko. Desperate search of a women that was Jan’s crush when he was younger.  He has not been able to forget her, Rami, and Jan thinks she’s in Sankta Psyko. Well, she’s not. He thinks everything is the way he imagines. It’s not.

Some other people, coworkers of Jan, try desperately to find the truth about a missing young man, murdered. And the killer in the hospital, not telling anything. They think everything is the way they imagine. It’s not.

Many things happening at the hospital at night, that’s for sure. And there’s no happy ending.

The only thing that bothers me is the ending. It confused me and it was not what I expected it to be. I’m not sure if I liked it, I haven’t decided yet. I didn’t fully understand it. But, as a whole, I liked the book and I will surely read more Theorin’s books.

theorin-johan-sankta-psyko1

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

