Transcendence

I went to the movies twice this week. The first movie was Transcendence so I will write about it first.

I was so excited when I heard that there was a new Johnny Depp -movie (as he’s one of my favourite actors). However, I was a little suspicious because the movie was science fiction, it’s not my favourite movie genre. But, as I’ve decided, I’m goint to go and see every movie where Johnny is acting so I went to see Transcendence with my son.

Transcendence was average. It had it’s moments but at times it was a little too slow-paced, yet not boring. The topic was interesting but it was handled in an usual way. Humans try to control with technology but everything turns upside down and the technology starts to take power over humans. In Transcendence there are some great actors, in addition to Johnny Depp, such as Morgan Freeman and Paul Bettany. Those excellent talents don’t lift the movie higher. What would’ve Transcendence been without these talented people? And what about Rebecca Hall, the leading lady in this movie? There’s something about her that I don’t like much. I think she’s a little stony. It feels like she doesn’t give her heart to the role. I may be wrong, but that’s how I felt.

Transcendence entertained me for two hours, but would I watch it again? Probably not. It was a mediocre Johnny Depp -movie. Though, I must say, it was much better than the previous movie, Lone Ranger (review here).

I admire Johnny Depp. His careless, cool and ageless style and his talent. Yet, he hasn’t made very good movies over the past years. All of them have been a little indifferent. It’s a shame because I think he could do so much more. Or maybe he doesn’t care if the movie is a hit or not.

transceposter

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

