August: Osage County

August: Osage County was not a light movie, no. It’s full of snide remarks, quarreling, resentment, envy, jealousy and bitterness.

It’s also filled with great performances from some brilliant actresses and actors.

Meryl Streep is, in my opinion, one of the greatest, a true legend. I always enjoy her performance and she has the ability to transform to all the demands that the role needs. I feel great respect for her as an actress.

Benedict Cumberbatch is one of my favourite actors from the younger generation. I’ve enjoyed his talent in Sherlock. In August: Osage County he has a smaller role, but he does it well.

A horribly dysfunctional family. Many secrets, some quite heavy. A movie that made me feel discomfort. It made me think of my own family. My father that I hardly ever see. My mother, who has problems with  alcohol. Almost every family has it’s own problems. Envy and bitterness. Relationships are not easy and just because someone belongs to the same family as you, doesn’t mean you are able to like them or get along. It’s a thing that makes, atleast me, feel quilty. I should like my father. I try to ignore the fact that we’re not close, but from time to time it comes to my mind and I feel sad.

This train of thoughts reminds me of something that Carrie Bradshaw says in one of the episodes of Sex and the City. This is it “The most important thing in life is your family. There are days you love them, and others you don’t. But, in the end, they’re the people you always come home to. Sometimes it’s the family you’re born into and sometimes it’s the one you make for yourself.”

Well, one thought led to another. Back to August: Osage County. I liked the movie very much, although it was heavy. I didn’t feel happy, when I left the movie theatre, but it had something that touched my heart.

august_osage_county_ver3

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

