The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

I was very suspicious about The Hunger Games -movies. I watched the first movie The Hunger Games from DVD and it was not so bad as I thought it would be.

I’m not part of the target audience, that’s for sure. I went to see The Hunger Games: Catching Fire with my son this week. The movie theatre was full of teenagers, mostly girls, giggling and talking, eating popcorn and candies. I thought that maybe I was in a wrong place. Eventually a few more grown-ups came to the theatre, so I was not the only one.

The movie was, I must admit, entertaining and even a little thrilling. I don’t know if this is embarrassing or not, but I kind of liked it. But, when you start to think about the story, it’s pretty depressing. A group of people are sent to a closed area to kill one another and other people watch, even cheer. Well, not all people cheer, the families of the rivals aren’t that happy because they, almost undoubtedly, will loose their loved ones. A very sick game, I say.

The movie ended but the story didn’t. So now we are waiting the next movie. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay will be split into two movies, part 1 will be in theatres on November 21st, 2014 and the second part on November 20th, 2015. Two more year before I know how the story will end. Interesting to see if my son still wants to see these two movies, he’s 14 now and will be 16 in 2015. It’s possible that he’s not interested in The Hunger Games after two years. We’ll see. Maybe I have to go by myself and join the huge bunch of teenagers a couple of times more.

the-hunger-games-catching-fire-poster

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

