The Counselor

Michael Fassbender, Brad Pitt, Cameron Diaz, Penélope Cruz and Javier Bardem in the same movie, quite a bunch. But, as I witnessed, that amazing bunch doesn’t guarantee a great movie. And not even the director Ridley Scott.

The Counselor  was a little boring and somehow dragged. The movie had a few scenes of shocking violence and a lot of talking. A great deal of talking, plenty about sex and women. The best part of this movie was Michael Fassbender and his emotional performance. Brad Pitt, Penélope Cruz and Javier Bardem were not at their best, they performed  but, to me, they didn’t give anything special this time. Cameron Diaz, well, she had some brave scenes, I say. She was good as a temptress but her performance didn’t thrill me.

In The Counselor things start to go wrong and they do not get better. There’s no happy ending in this movie. The Counselor ends in tears. I’m not saying that there has to be happy ending all the time, but it surely makes the viewer feel a lot better when he or she leaves the movie theater.

When I left the movie theater, I must admit, I was (just a little) disappointed. But, The Counselor was not the worst movie ever, so didn’t spoil my day.

the-counselor-poster

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

