The Way Way Back

I absolutely loved The Way Way Back. At first I had no plans to see this, but then I decided to go to the movies and The Way Way Back started just at the right time. Relationships, humor, growing up, making friends, becoming more confident. All that and more.

Grown-ups sometimes concentrate on their own lives and problems and forget about the children. This is what happened to 14-year-old Duncan (Liam James). It’s not easy when parents are taking the second round with their relationships. Mum’s boyfriend rates Duncan, “On a scale from one to ten, I think you are three”. Three?

It’s not easy to be a teenager, especially if you’re not so social, fashionable and outgoing as others (I can relate to that).

But, if you find the right people (for you) who accept you as you are and then encourage you a little, miracles can happen. In The Way Way Back it was so touching to see how Duncan, with a help of some (grazy but wonderful) people from the water park, challenges himself and gets more confident.

I was smiling when I left the movie theatre and I’m still smiling. Absolutely lovely. Definitely enchanting. Touching, yes. I’m happy that I went to see this. On a scale from one to ten, I think The Way Way Back is nine. Maybe even nine and a half.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

