In The Pleasure Groove – Love, Death & Duran Duran

I’m happy that this book was not available when I was a teenager. I felt deep love for John Taylor, the bassist of the band Duran Duran. My love for him was blind, he was flawless and the most perfect man in the world.

Years went by and I became an adult, so my enthusiasm decreased (luckily), but I was quite excited when I read that John Taylor was writing a book about his life. In the pleasure groove – love, death & Duran Duran was an interesting and great reading experience. Because Duran Duran was one of the most significant things in my life when I was young, my feelings for the band are still very warm. Reading this book brought back many wonderful memories.

What does this book tell you about John. Success doesn’t bring happiness. Alcohol and drugs mess up your life. On stage, performing, he was happy. After, lonely and confused.  John tells his story honestly and I love that.  In The Pleasure Groove – Love, Death & Duran Duran has opened new realistic perspectives about a phenomenon called Duran Duran. The book is also a story about survival. John’s life is better now, without alcohol or drugs.

Biographies are not my favorite form of literature and I only read biographies if the person in somehow meaningful for me. This book was just that and I feel very lucky that I was able to read it. I’m not able to give any critique, I’m too partial for that.

IMG_0987

2 Comments

Filed under Books

2 responses to “In The Pleasure Groove – Love, Death & Duran Duran

  1. Pingback: I Finally Met My Idol!… John Taylor, You Made It Such A “Perfect Day” | KiKiLime Designs Blog

  2. Pingback: In the Pleasure Groove: Love, Death and Duran Duran | My Own Little Playground

Leave a Reply

