We Need To Talk About Kevin

Some time has passed when I read and watched We Need To Talk About Kevin. Still, I have to say something about it.

I read the book a couple of years ago and, I must say, it was quite an experience. We Need To Talk About Kevin is a book that I will never forget, that’s for sure. I literally felt the pain that came across, in my stomach and in my heart.

Loving your children is sometimes hard. It’s something that a mother shouldn’t say, but it’s true. Motherhood isn’t always dancing on roses. Sometimes days are so hard you just want to cry. But you still love your children so much. And, as a mother I know that you almost always feel quilt. There’s always something you could have done better. There’s always something you did wrong.

We Need To Talk About Kevin describes vividly the difficult relationship of a mother and her disturbed son. So much trying, setbacks, quilt and other feelings. When the book drew on, I was crying, the end was so, so sad. One of the most emotional reading experiences of my life.

Then to the movie.

When I went to see the movie, I knew, of course, that it was not going to be a happy movie. I think Tilda Swinton was a good choice for the role of the mother. Her being is distant and somehow cold and it suited well to this movie. Ezra Miller’s (Kevin) stinging eyes were spot on.

I must say that the movies was a little disorganized. It helped, that I had read the book, I knew what to expect. When the movie came to the point when Kevin starts to kill his schoolmates with an arrow I was shocked, although I knew what was coming. Still, I think that the movie didn’t reach the same atmosphere as the book.

I prefer the book over the movie. This is, for sure a book that will divide opinions, but it touched my heart.

After I had read the book I went to find some information about Lionel Shriver, the author, and I found out that he was actually she, a woman named Margaret Ann Shriver.

1007931_nl_we_need_to_talk_about_kevin_1316513439082

201px-WeNeedToTalkAboutKevin

2 Comments

Filed under Both

2 responses to “We Need To Talk About Kevin

  1. Being a mother of grown up kids I totally agree with you. It’s hard and some things they do shock you to the core.
    Will have to see this movie 🙂

  2. Yes, I completely agree. My kids are teenagers and we’ve had very good and very, very bad days. But you always forgive. I’ll try to remember those good days, we’ve had many of those too. And I wouldn’t change my kids, they are everything to me.

Leave a Reply

